Week Forty: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

At your deepest level, what do you most want to know in your lifetime?

My senior year in high school I took a creative writing class. It was the first time I sat down and wrote something in a class setting and I loved it, but after graduation my writing was infrequent, sloppy and didn’t have much effort behind it.

Now that it’s been nearly twenty years since I graduated high school and I was rummaging through some of my old writing from then as well as a novel I wrote a few years ago, I wondered where I’d be if hadn’t stopped writing regularly.

I know I’d have at least a book published, maybe two. I don’t like to look back at the past because the present is much more important. I have my kids, wife and I’m writing now more than I ever had then.

I keep a schedule to my writing, and usually don’t break it, but there are the moments when I’m struggling with my writing and i think about those times in high school and how freely the words flowed from my hands, then I remember how I wrote the first 36,000 words of my current project in a ten days, yes ten.

It’s the moments like that I think about my writing differently and consider why I write my characters, why certain story ideas grab my attention and others fall away.

I’ve come to one conclusion about my writing in the last few years, I write because I feel it’s the only thing I’m really good at.

I played ice hockey in high school, but I wasn’t great at it. I was discharged a week into Marine boot camp, wasn’t good at that.

I like to think about where I’d be, what stories I would have written and whether I’d be the same person I am now, I hope so. I really like the person I am now, especially this writing stuff, it rocks!

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

