Week Forty-one: Bridget Scoville

photo

List the five people you’d like to meet and why

1. Marie Curie

Marie Curie was a Polish physicist and chemist who did research in radioactivity. She discovered polonium and radium, and she won 2 Nobel Prizes. She is still the only person to win a Nobel Prize in two different sciences (physics and chemistry). I would like to ask her a million questions about her research, working in science, and how she managed to do everything.

2. Jussi Björling

            Jussi Björling was a Swedish opera singer. He was nicknamed ‘The Tenor.’ His voice is absolutely amazing. I would like to talk to him about his musical training, how he decided to go into music, and just hear stories about life as an opera singer. [If I had chosen another career, I would have loved to become an opera singer.]

3. Karen Hesse

            Karen Hesse is the author of the book Out of the Dust. I read it in 5th grade, and decided that I was going to be a historical fiction writer. I wrote a short story about the dust bowl in a similar style. My career path has changed, but my love for history, the dust bowl, and the 1930’s lives on today. I would like to meet Karen Hesse to talk about her writing inspiration for the book, and to tell her how inspiring it was to me at the time.

4. Kara Goucher

            Kara Goucher is an American professional runner. She makes me want to run more! I love that she now has a training partner (Shalane Flanagan, in case you were wondering) because I also have a training partner. My training partner and I are working toward a ½ marathon in June. I would like to speak with her about running, her hobbies outside of running, how become more mentally tough while running, and any other tips and tricks.

5. The Green Brothers

            I know, technically they are two people, but Hank and John Green are just amazing. They are the ones who suckered me into watching YouTube on a regular basis. Hank and John Green are not only YouTuber’s. They both have other endeavors. One of which is John’s best selling book, The Fault in Our Stars. It’s an amazingly inspirational book. I would really like to meet both of them to talk about how they became who they are today as well as discussing entrepreneurship.

____________________

Bridget Scoville is a pharmacist with a scholarly interest in the kidneys. She is completing a post-graduate research fellowship at the University of Michigan Ann Arbor. When she’s not working on research, Bridget can be found running, swapping stories over coffee, laughing with friends during dinner, or youth mentoring through Big Brothers Big Sisters.

Leave a Reply

