Week Forty-two: Kathy Benson

Kathy Benson - Week 42 - Photo

Have you ever had something happen to you that you thought was bad but it turned out to be for the best?

When you feel sad, or under a curse

Your life is bad, your prospects are worse

Your wife is crying, sighing…

And your olive tree is dying,

Temples are graying, and teeth are decaying

And the creditors weighing your purse…

Your mood and your robe

Are both a deep blue

You’d be that Job

Had nothin’ on you…

Don’t forget that when you go to

Heaven you’ll be blessed.

Yes, it’s all for the best…

~ “All For the Best” from Godspell

These lyrics, from such a fun and inspiring musical, were the first thing to enter my mind after I read this prompt. I appreciate the tongue-in-cheek attitude in this song about how bad things may happen to us in life, but that in the end “it’s all for the best.”

As I have had shared here over the past year, I used to believe that everything happened for a reason. But after losing our baby girl Molly five years ago this week, my perspective and theology evolved. Now I think that no matter what happens in our lives we can find some good in and/or make some good come from it.

That said there have certainly been experiences I have had where I thought things were bad and they did seem to turn out for the best. As I shared in my Week Five post, where I wrote about five moments that changed my life, one of the biggest examples is how a family crisis landed my parents, sister and I in counseling, but led to our being able to communicate more openly, effectively and respectfully.

This would prove to be an invaluable skill going forward in life in the healthy relationships I developed with family, friends and ultimately my husband and our children

Another example, which I also shared about in that same post, was when I lost my first job in the real world, but I found a new vocation, which I loved, and showed me what it felt like to worth in a functional and faith-based organization.

I learned that I wanted a professional vocation that would allow me to help others and make a difference in the world, however I didn’t want my job to be the main focus of my life.

That last example, which came to mind when thinking about this writing prompt, took place various times over the years when I was dating. I was looking to find the man I would one day marry and every time a relationship didn’t work out it crushed me. Not every guy I dated broke my heart, but it was challenging for me back then to realize that each failed romantic connection was leading me to my husband Bob, whom I believe is truly my soul mate. I wrote more about my husband/best friend Bob and my relationship in Week Three and Week Twenty-nine.

Have you ever had something happen to you that you thought was bad but it turned out to be for the best?

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

 

One thought on “Week Forty-two: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Spring Shed: Week Five

Leave a Reply

