Week Forty-three: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?

I remember things differently when I was growing up. These things are different, well because they’re skewed  to my viewpoint, like a FPS (First Person Shooter).

I remember disliking school and getting bad grades because I found school boring, other than English and history, which were very fun and have help me even now with my writing.

My parents–more my dad than my mom–will remember me now “applying” myself to my schooling, a word I refuse to use when it concerns my own kids.

The application of schooling while living with my dad, which lasted until early in my ninth grade year, is something that I don’t look at anymore.

Before I moved in with my mom I would be punished for my grades, until I was punished so much and I no longer cared what punishment was dolled out. It wasn’t that I gave up on my schooling, it’s that I truly felt lost, bored and miserable.

My misery was caused by the bullies I dealt with on a daily basis while living with my dad, something he may not know about, but if he’s read The Bleeding Inkwell, he knows now.

Life deals us suffering on a daily basis, and throughout our lives. It’s in our control sometimes, but there are other times when, like the bullies I dealt with, caused us to do things we wouldn’t do otherwise. I know it’s 20 years ago, but I lived through it even though my dad didn’t know the signs of being bullied, which if what others have told me about his life in school he should have.

I lived with my mom and step-dad until I graduated from high school, I dealt with less bullies and did better in my schooling, but early in my school years I hated school and was punished for what I couldn’t deal with at school. And I’m a big proponent of teaching tools for parents and educators about bullying, though I may not show it enough.

Parents don’t understand the warning signs of bullying, only those who lived through horrible bullying will remember.

Were you bullied? Share your story in the comments.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

