Week Forty-seven: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

Write about your favorite house

Depending what time of day you walked in the smells would be different. It could be coffee, fresh cake or cookies. Sometimes the smell of tomatoes and burger frying would attack your nostrils, but it was always these smells that made my grandparents house the way it was.

When I was sick I would spend the day there or after school when I was in kindergarten my sisters and I would go over there, but Grandma’s house was always warm, welcoming and it felt the way I’d always thought your grandparents house should.

My Grandma was an amazing cook and she kept her house immaculate, which is one of the reasons I like a clean house, but am unable to do due to work and other stuff.

There were summers in the sprinklers, bedtime stories in the big bed and the raspberry bush in the backyard that always made springtime fun.

When we were bored we’d pick honeysuckles and suck on the flowers, though I know now you’re not supposed to do that.

I spend my teen some weekends mowing the grass and trimming the edges and along with the bushes it was tough, but I did it because my grandparents were amazing people and I miss them every day.

I know their house has been sold since my grandfather passed and I’ve drive by once, but it looks different and I’d rather think about morning with my grandpa drinking his coffee, eating his Corn Flakes and pancakes with a lot of syrup, not to mention the occasional scrambled egg sandwich.

My favorite house has always been my Grandpa and Grandma Jaramillo’s because I had the best times of my childhood there.

I miss them everyday, though I can sometimes feel my grandma around. The smell of lilacs and roses, especially roses because they had a rose bush in their backyard. My grandmother was the first person who told me to write and I wish I could tell her some of my stories today, I think she’d laugh and ask if I wanted something to eat.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

