Week Fifty-one: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

Write about anything

When you think about where your life has led you, are you disappointed, stressed, joyful, distraught?

I thought about this last week when my wife and kids were away. I missed them terribly, but having them away gave me perspective on where my life has led me.

In 1994 I graduated from high school I had intended to be a Marine, but that didn’t happen. Then I moved to Mesquite, NV with my parents after living with my dad for a while.

I lived in Mesquite for over a year. After leaving Mesquite I moved in with my cousin and his wife, both of whom were Marines stationed at Camp Pendleton, California. It was difficult seeing my cousin and his wife as Marines–something I’ve never said out loud–and helping them get ready for their day on base made it more difficult.

I lived with them for nearly a few months and moved back to live with my dad who promised I would have a room of my own and pay for me to attend college, the college part was true.

I lived with them for nearly a year, meeting my future wife along the way.

After leaving my dad and step-mom’s I moved in with my big sister and her family, and moved to Las Vegas with them, my future wife followed me a month later.

Once in Vegas it was difficult to find a job, since I had no real skills.

I attended a cheap bartending school, which my future wife paid for and started working at a restaurant on the strip.

After a while we got our own apartment, I proposed and we got married.

A few years after we were married our son was born, though for a long time and after a miscarriage we weren’t sure if we would be able to have kids. He looks like me, but has her temper.

We saved up for a house for a long time and finally were able to move into it, only to lose it after the market crashed and the banks refused to help us refinance our loan.

In 2009, after trying for a while we were able to conceive again and that fall a bunch of things happened. We lost our house, filed for bankruptcy, we had to move and our daughter was born six weeks early.

The stress of that summer was a lot, but we’ve made it through.

It’s been almost 20 years since I graduated from high school and I like the way my life has turned out.

I have people around me that support my writing and whatever endeavours I may choose. I have a wife who loves me, two amazing kids and I may not write for a living, but I believe that will happen by itself, just as the rest of my life has led me to where I am, it will continue to lead me to a better path which I know includes writing.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

