Week Fifty-two: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

Describe your experience as a Today Voice contributor

For the last year I’ve been part of something wonderful.

I wasn’t sure what to expect at first or what I’d learn about myself or others, but I was eager.

For the last year I’ve learned more about myself than I had the previous 37 years.

I learned what I truly fear, what I love and what is the one thing I truly want to do with my life.

For the last year I’ve been writing for this wonderful site and I never thought it would change how I write or whether I would think differently about my writing, especially that latter.

I’ve loved every post, though some were harder to write than others, but this experience has changed the way I look at writing, blogging and how I approach both.

I’ve been through a transition with my writing and I think that writing for this blog has been a big part of that transition. When i think about what’s changed I believe the biggest is my confidence in my writing and trying to lose the fear that haunts me daily.

Fear that my dad was right, that I’ll never be a writer.

The love I have for putting words on the page has grown more over the last year, and more so the last six months. This thing called writing is my greatest love.

More than anything I’ve done in my life–this include my wife and kids–I’ve wanted to be a writer. It’s not seeing people reading my writing, it’s the act, the sitting down at the desk every day and putting words on the page that has changed me.

I never believed that something so supposedly easy could cause such strife, such annoyance and in finding each new word to add I’ve discovered what it is about myself and my writing that makes me keep writing.

This past year has made me realize a few thing about myself.

I’m a good writer, sometimes great. I love to see other writers flip a topic and see what they can do with the same topic and I’m extremely grateful for the opportunity to take a year and discover who I am, what I care about and why I write.

Thank you for this past year. I’m eternally grateful for the opportunity and it will be one of my fondest thoughts when I look back on my writing in the future.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

